• Not swearing allegiance: an epithet applied to those clergymen and prelates in England who would not swear allegiance to the government after the revolution of 1688.
  • Not swearing allegiance; -- applied to the party in Great Britain that would not swear allegiance to William and Mary, or their successors.
  • Describing the <xref>bishops</xref>, <xref>clergy</xref> and <xref>congregations</xref> that refused to swear allegiance to William III of England.
powered by